Yes You are Very Clever, But are You Happy?

Image

I spend a fair bit of time on social media. There are a lot of intelligent and educated people many of whom have a pet cause, perhaps it is politics, feminism, equal rights, environmentalism, disability awareness etc. All very noble and worthy causes. I don’t argue that any of these issues should be ignored but I have become increasingly aware that those who are most vehement about furthering their cause are the ones who seem to be giving themselves over to it. I see people who only view the world through the eyes of feminism meaning anything that doesn’t have an equal amount of female representation is a deliberate attack on the concept of equality for women. Sometimes it’s just the way things pan out but being worked up about it seems to have limited benefit for the person’s happiness and effectiveness as a whole.

Impotent rage would be an unkind but descriptive term for the sorrow and anger I see online, people pushing their cause seem to conclude that keeping it in the public eye will make the problem one people have to deal with, whilst there is no actual action on the lobbyists behalf. I hesitate to dismiss this as slacktivism which seems to be more in the realm of “click this is if you agree with marriage equality”, the people I speak of are genuinely involved with it on an emotional level but not actually doing much more than allowing themselves to get upset and making the rookie mistake of arguing with people online.

These people are mostly extremely educated and intelligent people. There is no arguing that, but I don’t see any joy or happiness in their tweets, their posts or their articles. By focusing on the intellectual side, by drawing attention to the what they see as the bad stuff, the injustices in the world and ignoring the light or worse, denigrating it for being “unscientific” or “cultural appropriation”. There seems no regard for the fact that cultures other than the one people are born in can have much more to offer the health and well being of people around the world, can increase the happiness. I know my life would be a much grumpier place to live without Yoga* and curries but these are not from my Celtic/Germanic heritage. Neither is anyone from India being exploited due to my actions. Attacking things that don’t make intellectual sense purely on this basis isn’t clever. It isn’t helpful.  Too often I see unhappy people doing their best to tear down what people use to initiate their own happiness. Happy people are what this world needs, not raging intellectual tearing down of the ethereal.

Culture and the world as a whole are evolving and some of it is for the better. Yes we may struggle with other people’s choices such as not vaccinating their children (which I can’t find any solid argument for by the way- science is at its pinnacle here in my opinion- so many lives saved since vaccinations have become more prevalent) but I think if you want to change the world for the better you need to show the world what you can be. I certainly dismiss the opinions of those who appear to be so desperately unhappy with their lot that all they can do is argue and attack others, no matter how valid the point or worthy the cause. Do I want to be like them? No? Then I won’t take on their anger.  (I am not referring to people who reach out on Social Media during episodes of mental health problems but I do hope that they are talking to someone about their depression, anxiety, bi-polar etc).

I used to live in Northern NSW where there were a lot of people who appeared to be happy. Yes they were covered in dirt, yes their concept of democracy and the way society works and science was hazy at best but through the drum circles and the pyramid sitting tree worship there was an enviable simple happiness. Their lack of tertiary education and random cultural appropriation (belly dancing whilst, doing yoga with a Native American Headdress anyone?) didn’t appear to be hurting anyone and the lack of noise in their heads seemed most desirable (of course there were also those who had been stoned for twenty years and muttered about aliens, them not so enviable).

This is just a musing, I do not have citations to give, I am not writing about any one person in particular (and there are some amazing people I know who are tertiary educated and really walk the talk too!) but if this strikes a chord with you perhaps you can think of a way to bring a bit of positivity in your world that doesn’t have a peer reviewed study about its effectiveness. Walk barefoot on the earth, volunteer to work with the people whose cause you champion so much, try a yoga or mediation class (without even being Indian!) Sing and dance. Be joyful, positive and happy! I bet you can influence the world for the better if you do!

*Yoga is, by the way, almost unrecognizable these days as the spiritual pursuit that involved sitting naked in the dirt and smearing oneself with funereal ashes amongst other things. Oh and it was only for men. It has evolved and over time the current form has been rigorously studied by Western scientists who found it not only has amazing mental and physical benefits but that the outcomes are often counter to what the process is. Put simply, it’s not quite explainable yet. So they can go and study and explain it and I will just keep practicing and receiving the benefits and sharing them with my family who likes a happier me better than a cleverer one!

Photo credit of educated but rather miserable looking monkey.

7 thoughts on “Yes You are Very Clever, But are You Happy?

  1. Bless you. “Happy people are what this world needs, not raging intellectual tearing down of the ethereal.” It takes some of us ten years at university to figure that out. Oh for an Analytics Anonymous to help us rehabilitate from distancing our own experiences. (Quite the way to miss years of your own life).

  2. I’m trying to be more like this. For me, the election was a wake-up call. I wrote a post about how it affected me. I came to the conclusion that I can either sit back and complain about everything I disagree with and preach to the converted, or I can take some steps to try and make a difference in things that are important to me. I might not be able to make a huge difference, but I’m sure there is something I can do that will have a positive impact somewhere in the world, and I want to find that something and go out & do it.

    • It was actually the continuing emotional aftermath of the election all around me that finally inspired me to write this post, I am glad you have made the decision to make your life more positive in spite of it all ( how terrible to feel like that for 3 years, & what if they were elected again:/?) It’s not always easy to find the positive difference you want to make in the world( my idea needs more money than I currently have so that’s what I am working for!) but being overall more optimistic and less complain-y has to help by spreading a happier feeling at a base level for a start right? Good work!

  3. I prefer the term Content. I think happiness is a fleeting thing that if you try to attain on a daily basis you will be sorely let down. Contentment is something that comes with knowing that some things can’t be changed..not everything is changeable. And your point about those who are loud for their particular cause – yes I have come across many of those in my journey with a son with type 1 diabetes – there are those who feel it necessary to talk about it on a daily basis rather than accepting that it is unchangeable & that ranting against the world won’t do anyone any good.

    • That’s very wise Megan,expecting happiness to be the base point is somewhat unrealistic, you need to expect and accept that some days are not going to be amazing but that it is temporary, I think a lot of suffering these days is self inflicted through the belief everyday should be super happy. Everything is dualistic (or maybe three aspects- the grey area too?) I think that content is a better word really!

  4. I agree that happiness can be spread like wildfire.
    However, I also find that by spreading the word about what is wrong with the world and how it can be righted, more people out there who are otherwise ignorant of this, can wake up and see it and take action to make a difference – the difference can be made with a bulk amount of people. A lot of people I know out there have had the bother to read into things and have “woken up” we all know the Monsanto debate and how that has grown . . .and it has grown due to people out there trying to prove a point in their wrongdoings, and as a result,e veryone realises it and decides to stop buying their product (which, may I add, is very hard lest you grow your own fruit and veg and buy nothing else!) and as a result in a few coutnries already we are seeing Monsanto go down.
    Then, when the wrong in the world comes down, people cna be happy. I’m so passionate about justice, particualrly the environment, as I try to spread the word via social media about what is happening, why it is important and what peopl can do to make a difference. I also volunteer up here in my home town (on the edge of the Great Barrier Reef too, ideally) and help spread the word up here and show peopel what they can do and while it matters. Spreading the word make a difference and makes the world a better place!!!

Leave a comment